Carine

Married April 2016 in Switzerland

Hello Ali!

We get married Saturday 30 April, and it was wonderful! We had sun and rain....in french we had a term: "Wedding rainy, wedding happy!" I still keep the letter you sent me with the dress. As we talk, some pictures of our wedding....thanks again for the dress!
It was wonderful.....

Kind regards, 
Carine

Bridie

Married February 2016 in Perth, Western Australia

The dress is gorgeous, nice and simple yet elegant, exactly what I was after! Ali did a beautiful job. The material is gorgeous - I’m really happy with it, couldn’t have got it in a shop! It’s absolutely perfect, I wouldn’t want anything else and can’t thank you enough!

Genevieve's bridesmaids

October 2015 wedding in Sydney, NSW

Ali has a great sense of style and she made the process of designing the dresses, through discussing our initial ideas, choosing the fabric, and final adjustments very easy and fun. Ali is very friendly and approachable and was really flexible and easy to organise fittings with. 

The final dresses were even better than we could have imagined, and we are excited to wear them again (which can be rare with a bridesmaid dress)!

Thanks so much Ali! 

Penny, Karen, Caitlin, Heidi and Genevieve

Kate

married May 2015 in her mother's wedding dress, re-made to fit her

The day was a huge success. The dress was beautiful and my mum loved it!!! I have attached a few photos of mum on her wedding day and a few from our wedding day. Thanks again for everything you did!

Jeannine (Mother of the Bride)

I first met Ali Dibley through my daughter, Hannah, who was married on October 4th 2014 wearing the exquisite pale pink beaded bodiced gown created by Ali and whose testimonial can be reviewed on this site. As a woman who has dabbled with sewing over the years, one can always tell the quality of a garment by the inside as well as the outside and Ali’s work is exceptional and fine in its detail and construction. As mother of the bride I delighted in the compliments offered to Hannah as she proudly walked down the aisle in this amazingly beautiful and delicate gown. The resounding opinion from Hannah’s guests was that her wedding gown was so refreshingly different and so delicately beautiful. The gasps were audible and many were heard to exclaim “That dress”!

So it was without hesitation that I approached Ali recently, this time as mother of the groom, to help us solve a difficult situation with a store bought gown for my son’s bride to be, Asha for their wedding on March 21st 2015. Asha is a tiny little woman and I relished the opportunity given to me as mother of the groom to support her in the absence of her own mum, who was back home in India. Asha had some cultural restraints, which meant that modesty was an important factor in the style of dress she chose. The dress Asha fell in love with did not meet the criteria for adequate coverage, but based on the promise of the sales lady, who said their own dressmaker would work wonders and make the changes needed to form a sleeve on the strapless gown, it was purchased.

When it came to the crunch, the shop dressmaker did not have the skills to make the changes to the gown as promised at the point of sale. Ali came to the rescue and not only designed a beautiful beaded tulle capped sleeve for the gown, which matched her exquisitely beaded veil, but worked on the many layers of satin and tulle to ensure the hem was appropriate and that this tiny little bride would actually be able to walk and move comfortably in the gown. Ali also fashioned a bustle to hold up the many layers so that Asha was more comfortable and free to move around at the reception.

So, not only did we have two very happy and beautiful brides in their gowns, we approached Ali further at the last minute to make one of the bridesmaid’s dresses. We had two bridesmaid’s dresses made locally, and whilst both of these looked beautiful, after receiving the gorgeous tangerine satin with black lace overlay bridesmaid’s dress that Ali made, I wished she had made all three. The construction of the dress was far superior to the two dresses made locally and, as I stated in my opening, the inside of the dress was so neatly finished with a fully lined bodice that the other two dresses did not have.

It was an absolute pleasure to have Ali working with our girls for both weddings and I have no hesitation in recommending her highly skilled workmanship, design ideas and pleasant, easy going nature to anyone who is fortunate to choose her to make the wedding gown of their dreams. Ali has the wonderful ability to listen carefully to her clients and capture the essence of their dream for that perfect dress.

 

Hannah

married October 2014 in Newcastle, NSW

My dress was custom made by the incredible Ali from Bell Street. Ali was living in the Philippines for basically the whole time she was working on my dress, so we communicated via Pinterest and email. Ali was so easy to work with and knew exactly what I wanted. The colour was a perfect fairy floss pink, achieved by Ali hand dyeing the silk! I'm pleased to say I didn't visit a single bridal store. Ali was amazing!

 

Abra's bridesmaids

married March 2013 in Texas, USA

I met Ali online when I was desperately trying to find bridesmaids dresses for my wedding in the Spring of 2013.  At first I just told the girls to find a vintage 60’s dress in either pink, orange, or yellow. That was proving more difficult than I thought it would be.  So I was hunting on Etsy on a daily basis.  I was trying all sorts of search terms and combinations.  I honestly don’t remember what I used when I found Ali's page.  But there was the perfect dress; the Chelsea long sleeve colour block mod dress.  I took a chance and asked if she could custom make the dresses. She said she could.  She also sent a bunch of sketches of variation on a theme, but I went with the original design.  We immediately started a great relationship going back and forth on fabric and color choices and updates on the progress of the dresses. She mailed me samples of the fabric before proceeding.  Keep in mind, the whole time she was also moving house and planning her own wedding!  Anyway, the dresses were ready about a month and a half before the wedding.  It gave the girls enough time to have the dresses slightly altered here in Texas before the wedding.  If I had gotten with Ali earlier, I have no doubt she would have been happy for me to mail them back for her to do the altering.  They were well made and inexpensive enough that I gave the dresses as the bridesmaids gifts.  The dresses really added to the overall feeling of the wedding.  My wedding would not have been as great if it weren’t for Ali!

Amy-Kate

married March 2011 in Robertson, NSW

Jennifer

married April 2009 on the Gold Coast, QLD

Thank you so much Ali. I didn't have a CLUE what I wanted for my dress, just that I didn't want strapless! After traipsing around heaps of shops trying on ugly dresses that looked awful on me I thought I would have to get married in a tent. You seemed to know exactly what would look good on me and made it fit perfectly. I felt so beautiful in it. I loved that you used good silk fabric and did all the beading by hand... you are amazing!

Being sentimental, I wanted my dress to to include a detail from my mother's beautiful 1960s wedding gown. Your idea of incorporating her bow into the design of my dress was perfect. Adding the beading to it beautifully connected it to my own dress. Thank you too, for replacing and restoring the bow back to mum's dress after the wedding. Now both dresses are beautiful!